Ghosts in curse the darkness

I ran a game of curse the darkness at MarCon some weeks back – actually, you can read about it here. That game included some awesome in-character discussion of what They – the things from the Between – really are. One character suggested that since They drag people away into the shadows, They might be the corrupted souls of those people.

Now, curse the darkness has always had a strong vision about what kind of “magic” is available in-setting (that is, travel through the Between and that’s basically it). I’m not going to be including detailed rules for magic and other supernatural stuff in the game as written, because I like keeping a tight focus (and it’s not hard to add it anyway, which I do address in the book).

But any writer knows: Kill your darlings. Consistency is the hobgoblin of small minds. And so on. And I’m running a game of Geist: The Sin-Eaters tonight, so my mind is on ghost-related things. And right now, we’re at $3878 (holy cats, you guys rock), so I’ll tell you what I’ll do.

I’m adding a stretch goal. We’ve got one already ($7500 and I’ll put together a fiction anthology of short stories inspired by curse the darkness – I really hope that happens, because I’ve had several people let me know they’re down to contribute if it happens – incidentally, if that applies to you, please message me!), but the plan was always to add more as I thought of them. So here we go:

If we hit $6000, I’ll write a free, pdf-only expansion (probably not more than 2000 words or so, because I don’t think we’ll need more than that) providing rules for the spirits of the dead in curse the darkness. Right off the top of my head, I’m thinking that players won’t play ghosts, at least not full time, but that if you’ve got Memory Points on you, ghosts pay closer attention.

So there ya go! Wanna get your haunt on, get folks to pledge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

