Playtest Upcoming, and Other Updates

Woo. Things are progressing, here in curse the darkness-ville.

Yesterday, Michelle (my fiancee and business partner), Steve (our photographer) and Sarah (my girlfriend, sounding board, con organizer and die-hard playtester) and I went out to the site where we’re going to be taking photos for the book.

I knew from the get-go that I wanted manipulated photographs for the finished curse the darkness book, and you got a little taste of what that’ll look like with the ad I posted recently. These are going to dynamic, moody shots involving members of our families, friends, one of my co-workers, and a lot of creative brainstorming on the parts of myself, Sarah and Michelle. I think it’ll all be pretty bad-ass when it’s done.

When it’s done. Hoy. I’m hopeful that we’ll be able to generate enough of a following to have this book pay for itself, and get folks playing it. I know the game is playable and I think it’s fun, but I need more data, more people sharing experiences.

To wit: We just finished up a Vampire: The Requiem story, and the initial plan was to switch over to Geist: The Sin-Eaters. I decided last night, though, that we need to playtest the Wick systems and see what curse the darkness is like with a longer-than-one-session game. So that’s on the docket for the next couple of months, and I’ll be writing up the actual play reports here. I would welcome feedback.

Also, I’m going to be at Con on the Cob this weekend, and I’ve got a session of curse the darkness scheduled. I’d be happy and able to add another session if the first one fills, so if you’re in the greater Cleveland area (or feel like trekking in for a day), let me know and I’ll make it happen. It’s a fun con, anyway.

So that’s where we are. Art in progress, business end of things underway, writing continuing. Likewise, real-life events inspired curse the darkness and got me working on it because of how pissed off I was. Now, there are protests and signs again, in New York and 70 other cities, Cleveland included. And those folks give me hope, because they are clearly lighting a candle.

2 responses to “Playtest Upcoming, and Other Updates

Leave a Reply

